Explain the meaning of inner transition series.

i. The last electron in the f-block elements enters into (n-2) f-orbitals, i.e., inner to the penultimate energy level and they form a transition series within the transition series (d-block elements).

Hence, the f-block elements are known as inner transition series.

ii. There are two series of inner transition elements:

a. Lanthanoids (atomic number 58–71)

b. Actinoids (atomic number 90–103).

What are lanthanoids? Explain the position of lanthanoids in the periodic table.

For more Q & A of any subject of Maharashtra HSC Board CLICK HERE

One thought on “Explain the meaning of inner transition series.”

Ask us anything about HSC